Music Listening Teams Compete at Regionals

The Minnesota High School Music Listening Contest regional contest will take place on Friday, January 18, 2019 at 1 p.m., in ten different regional sites throughout the state. Over 150 teams will be participating in the contest this year, representing close to 60 different schools, home schools and private music studios.

Cotter High School will have four teams of students competing at Winona State University for the regional competition on January 18th. Cotter Team Members are: Ceili DeMarais, Rita Row, Aidan Carlson, Madeline Mohan, Olivia Carillo, Parker Hetrick-Binner, Gabe Welch, Megan Zenke, Matt Besek, Faye Li, Benny Fung, Luke Broghammer, and Hunter Ramsden. The teams are coached by Cathy Snyder.

The mission of the Music Listening Contest is to assist teachers in their efforts to expand the music experiences of students, primarily through the use of Western art music, commonly referred to as classical music. The contest materials cover classical music, global perspectives and a variety of musical influences. The objective of the contest is to inspire students to become lifelong participants in the musical experience.

The Music Listening Contest is an ideal opportunity to enrich students' experiences with classical music in a fun and competitive environment. This statewide contest connects high school students with classical music and enhances their ability to identify composers, periods and styles.In the fall, teachers or coaches recruit three students to form a team.Team members receive a study guide, t-shirt and listening repertoire from the Naxos Music Library that contain all the musical selections they will need to compete effectively. All teams participate in regional competitions.The top two scoring schools from each regional contest advance to the state competition held at Augsburg College in Minneapolis on February 1, 2019.

The Minnesota Music Listening Contest is a non-profit organization that has served thousands of students. For more information, visit:

Pictured L to R: (Row 1) Madeline Mohan, Hunter Ramsden, Olivia Carillo, (Row 2) Faye Li, Luke Broghammer, Benny Fung, (Row 3) Gabe Welch, Megan Zenke, Matt Besek, (Row 4) Rita Row, Aidan Carlson, Ceili DeMarais. Not pictured: Parker Hetrick-Binner.