Speech Wins JM Competition 2020

The Cotter Speech traveling and national teams traveled to Rochester John Marshall on Saturday, February 8th. Cotter was on of 20 schools at the tournament of 368 students.

In “large school” competition, Cotter won the tournament with a score of 78 points, beating Cannon Falls (40 pts) and Northfield (36 pts).  

Cotter won seven Varsity events and two Novice.


Creative Expression:
Aidan Carlson - Category Champion
Peter Badciong - 3rd place
Megan Zenke - Honorable Mention

Dramatic Interpretation:
Hunter Ramsden - Category Champion
Lexi Licheng - 2nd place
Olivia Moore - Honorable Mention

Duo Interpretation:
Sam Wantock and Jack Walters - Category Champion
Alison French and Maddy McConville - 3rd place
James Greshik and Ty Grebin - Honorable Mention

Extemporaneous Reading:
Aubrey Williams - 5th place

Extemporaneous Speaking:
Hannah Graff - 3rd place
Hailey Biesanz - 6th place

Great Speeches:
Aubrey Williams - Category Champion

Humorous Interpretation (Varsity):
Hunter Ramsden - 5th place
Maddy McConville - Honorable Mention
Ellie Glodowski - Honorable Mention

Humorous Interpretation (Novice):
River Repinski - Category Champion

Informative (Varsity):
Nick Walechka - Category Champion
Abby Briggs - 6th place

Informative (Novice):
Spencer Briggs - Category Champion

Original Oratory (Varsity):
Grace Miller - Category Champion
Grace Finnerty - 5th place

Original Oratory (Novice):
Fiona McColl - 4th place

Alison French - Category Champion

Grace Miller - 3rd place
Cecelia Galke - Honorable Mention
Hunter Ramsden - Honorable Mention
Jack Walters - Honorable Mention

Claire Miller - 2nd place
Jonah Heckman - 5th place