Skip To Main Content

The Cotter Band Program's Annual Music Awards

The Cotter Band Program's Annual Music Awards

The Cotter Band Program announced its annual music award winners at their spring concerts: Congratulations to Alex Slaggie, Carl Hardin, and Sophia Carlson! 

2024 Louis Armstrong Jazz Award Winner: Alex Slaggie

The Louis Armstrong Jazz Award is voted on by all jazz students and is given to someone who has contributed in an outstanding way to Cotter’s jazz program. Alex's contribution comes in the form of his astounding attention to detail and his deep knowledge of musical style as a jazz drummer. Anyone who has heard Alex play knows that he puts the work in to do it right- well-versed in swing, rock, funk, Latin, and more, Alex has been hands down one of the most important members of our jazz program for the last 6 years. He never misses a rehearsal and is incredibly reliable as the heartbeat of the rhythm section. Alex studies drumset privately, and has used these talents to be a founding member of the most recent Cotter jazz combo- a student-led group that performs at many events across the year, including the upcoming Cotter auction!

Alex is a senior percussionist who has been in band since 5th grade and has played drumset in the Cotter Jazz bands since 7th grade. He plans on attending the University of Miami next fall to study business, and play drumset in the jazz bands. 

2024 John Phillip Sousa Award Winner: Sophia Carlson

The John Phillip Sousa Band Award is a nationally given award to one student from a high school band program that exemplifies the highest level of dedication and skill in an instrumental music program. Sophia Carlson earned this award through her years of practice and passion for her craft. Selected as one of the 2024 featured soloists at Luther College’s Dorian honor band, Sophia has performed solo and in professional groups across MN and Iowa. She also had the chance to perform with the WSU band at the 2024 Minnesota Music Educators Association Midwinter Convention. 

Sophia is a percussionist who has participated in band since 5th grade, played piano and vibraphone in the jazz bands since 7th grade, and was a drum major for 2 years in the marching band. Sophia plans on attending St. Olaf in the fall where she will study percussion performance. 

2024 James J Carroll Award Winner: Carl Hardin

The James J Carroll Award is a student-voted award going to a band student who is an exemplary player, in addition to being a well-rounded and involved student. Carl participates in every playing opportunity he can find, including Cotters Wind Ensemble, Concert Band, Jazz 1, Jazz 2, Jazz Combo, WSU concert band, the Winona brass band, and more. In addition to these ensembles, Carl can be found before and after school practicing for hours each day and is constantly focused on perfecting his sound. 

Carl has played trombone in the Cotter band program since his junior year when he transferred from Oxford Mississippi. He's played trombone since 6th grade, and plans on continuing his education with an undergrad in trombone performance next fall. 

The Cotter Band Program's Annual Music Awards
There are no resources to display